International Alliance for Women in Music


IAWM Board (effective 2021)


Christina Rusnak 

Composer/Writer/Cultural Catalyst USA


Vice President

Dana Reason
Composer, Producer, Pianist USA


Treasurer Deb Saidel
Performer, Musicologist, Teacher, Writer USA



Kelly Vaneman 

Performer (Oboe), Composer, Teacher USA


Supporting Members

Gaby Alvarado

Flutist, USA


Wanda Brister 

Singer/Professor, Florida State USA


Kerensa Briggs
Soprano, Composer in Residence UK


Monica Buckland
Composer, Conductor

University of New South Wales Australia


Christina Butera

Composer, Sound Artist, A.D or NOIRE Ensemble, USA


Roma Calatayud-Stocks

Composer and Author, USA


Michelle Cheng
Composer, Multimedia Performer, Founder fff Ensemble USA


Carolina Hengstenberg

Composer, Orchestrator, Conductor, Spain


Mathew Hoch
Conductor, Professor, Auburn University USA


Natalia Kazaryan
Pianist, Educator, Howard University USA


Lil Lacy
Performer, Composer Denmark


Julia Mortyakova

Pianist, Professor, 

Founder of Music by Women International Festival,USA


Nicole Murphy

Composer, Professor, Australia


Deborah Nemko

Pianist, Educator, Professor USA


Julia Palmer

Violinist, Violist, Educator, UK


Jane Rigler

Flutist, Composer, Improvisor, Educator, USA


Natalia Rojcovscaia
Composer, Pianist, Academy of Music, Theater, & Fine Arts RM Moldova


Deb Saidel 

Flutist, Educator USA


Angela Elizabeth Slater
Founder and artistic director of the Illuminate Women's Music concert series UK

Composition tutor at Cardiff University


Karen Walwyn

Pianist, Composer, USA


Sarah Westwood
Composer, Administrator, Co-director of Illuminate Women's Music UK


Kathryn Woodard
Pianist, Founder of Sonic Crossroads


Committee Volunteers

Eline Cote, Double Bassist, Founder Virago Symphonic Orchestra, Belgium

Violeta Dinescu Composer/Professor Germany
Kimcherie Lloyd Conductor/Pianist/Professor USA


Advocacy & Public Relations Committee

The Advocacy & Public Relations Committee aims to promote IAWM’s awareness worldwide, and stimulate membership through developing industry allies and memberships/partnerships, integrating projects that promote the music and awareness of women in music and outreach to media and broadcasting.

Wanda Brister, Chair, 

Julia Palmer and Natalia Rojcovscaia

Linda Rimel – Radio Requests & Broadcasts
Ursula Rempel – Radio Requests & Broadcasts

Awards & Concert Committee

The IAWM Awards / Concert Committee is comprised of three subcommittees which plan, coordinate and communicate the IAWM annual concerts and awards.

Search for New Music (SNM)- honoring compositions by women
Michelle Cheng, Chair 

Pauline Alderman Awards - honoring writing about women and music
Monica Buckland

Concert  - plans the annual IAWM concert
Natalia Kazaryn Chair,  

Natalia Rojcovscaia


Education Grant 
Nicole Murphy 


Programming Award 

Roma Calatayud-Stocks 


Communications & Website Committee

The Communications Committee is responsible for all external communication from the IAWM website and social media sites. This committee works closely with the Advocacy & Publicity and Marketing committees and the rest of the board in developing organizational communication messaging. It is comprised of three subcommittees:

IAWM Website
Sarah Westwood, webmaster 

Angela Elizabeth Slater, web content

Christina Butera, radio requests, web content

Nicole Murphy, Online Journal Research

Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner, listserv


Eve R. Meyer, journal editor in chief

Samantha Ege

Kimberly Greene

Lynn Gumert

Anita Hanawalt

Social Media Networking

Carolina Hengstenberg & Lil Lacy, 

Angela Elizabeth Slater, administrator


Conference Committee

The Conference Committee vigilantly seeks out international and U.S. sites for future Conferences.  Any institution wishing to host a Conference should contact the committee chair or president. During the two years preceding a Conference, the committee supports the preparations by the host committee.

Jane Rigler & Dana Reason co-chairs, 

Eline Cote

Finance Committee

The committee coordinates with other IAWM committees on income producing projects and approves all non-budgeted expenses. The chair is responsible for all financial transactions for IAWM, including financial updating, fiscal management and developing the budget.

Deb Saidel, Chair,  

Christina Rusnak


Global Initiatives Committee Historian

This committee works closely with the Advocacy & Publicity, Membership and Communications committees and the rest of the board to foster and develop awareness, and connection with members throughout the world, forming diverse partnerships and transformative opportunities for membership expansion, alliance, equity, community engagement and outreachThe committee coordinates with other IAWM committees on income producing projects and approves all non-budgeted expenses. The chair is responsible for all financial transactions for IAWM, including financial updating, fiscal management and developing the budget.

Karen Walwyn, Chair

Roma Calatayud-Stocks, Deborah Nemko & Gaby Alvarado




Historian works with the Secretary, Communications, Membership Committee and the rest of the board in documenting organizational activities and history, member information, board meetings and decisions, awards communication and statistics.

Wanda Brister Rachwal


 Marketing & Development Committees

The Marketing and Development chairs put forth all marketing and fundraising recommendations. This committee carries out IAWM's Marketing and Development Strategies to increase external knowledge and membership for IAWM, and to coordinate all development activities. Members work closely with the Advocacy and Communications Committees.

Marketing & Branding: Kathryn Woodard, Chair, 

Natalia Kazaryn & Gaby Alvarado


Development: Deborah Nemko, Chair, 

Matthew Hoch


Membership Committee

The Membership Committee verifies and maintains the informational database for all members, circulates a directory and executes the annual membership drive.

Julia Mortyakova Chair,

Kerensa Briggs


If you are looking to join or renew your membership, you may do so here.


Nominations/Elections Committee 

The IAWM board invites people to nominate themselves and others, with permission, to the IAWM board. The Nomination / Election Committee receives nominations and supporting materials, and facilitates the annual election of new board members.  Contact the President or committee chair if you are interested in joining the board and/or serving on one of IAWM’s committees.

Dana Reason, Chair


*serving second of two consecutive terms