International Alliance for Women in Music


Pauline Alderman Awards

The Pauline Alderman Awards were founded in 1985 by the International Congress on Women in Music to honor the memory of pioneering musicologist Pauline Alderman, Ph.D. (1893-1983), founder and chair of the Music History Department of the University of Southern California. 

Every two or three years we call for scholars to submit their best work in the categories of Book, Article, or Reference work. Past winners include some of the most distinguished scholars writing about women and music. 


Winners of the 2020 Pauline Alderman Awards 


The International Alliance for Women in Music is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Pauline Alderman Awards for Outstanding Scholarship on Women in Music. 


Authors submitted articles and book-length works published in 2017, 2018 and 2019 for adjudication by respected scholars.  The submissions included monographs, edited collections, theses, articles, and book chapters in English, German, Italian, French, Norwegian and Bosnian.



Book prize:
Christina L. Reitz

Jennifer Higdon: Composing in Color. McFarland, 2018.


Article/book chapter prize:

Kendra Leonard

“Women at the Pedals: Female Cinema Musicians During the Great War.” In: Over Here, Over There: Transatlantic Conversations on the Music of World War I, ed. William Brooks, Christina Bashford, and Gayle Magee. University of Illinois Press, 2019.



For more details, please see Pauline Alderman Awards Winners.


A call will go out for submissions to the next cycle of the Pauline Alderman Awards in late 2022.